ENG 102: College English II

The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper. A full list of titles is available for download beneath the search box.

This collection from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) contains five series of full-text periodicals covering all aspects of American life.

• Series 1 (1691 - 1820): Presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic.
• Series 2 (1821 - 1837): Presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history. It is broad in scope and includes coverage of agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
• Series 3 (1838 - 1852): Presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities.
• Series 4 (1853 - 1865): Presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, there is also a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war.
• Series 5 (1866 - 1877): Presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation following the Civil War, emancipation, and westward expansion.

American Poetry contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century, and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources. A full list of titles is available for download beneath the search box.

History Vault: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle contains the following collections:

• NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; 
• NAACP Papers: Branch Files and Youth Department Files; 
• NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; 
• NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment and Armed Forces; 
• NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; 
• NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.